Contents lists available at ScienceDirect

Tetrahedron Letters

journal homepage: www.elsevier.com/locate/tetlet

Announcement of the Winner for the Lectureship Award MBLA 2009

Dr. Yoshiaki Nakao (Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan) has received the MBLA 2009. One of the most important issues in the current organic synthesis is the development of new efficient C–C bond forming reactions. In this regard, transition metalcatalyzed addition reactions across unsaturated bonds with C–C bond formation should be of great synthetic potential. To achieve such C–C bond forming addition reactions, a catalytic cycle may involve activation of C–H or C–C bonds, an elemental step that is not always feasible. Dr. Nakao has disclosed a new strategy that realizes such elemental reaction by employing cooperative catalysis of nickel and Lewis acid catalysts, and has developed novel C–C bond forming addition reactions through activation of C–H bonds of nitrogen-containing heterocycles and formamides and that of C–CN bonds of nitriles.



Dr. Yoshiaki Nakao (born in 1976) was educated in chemistry at Kyoto University (Ph. D. with Profs. Tamejiro Hiyama and Eiji Shirakawa), Yale University (visiting student with Prof. John F. Hartwig), and Max-Planck-Institut für Kohlenforschung (visiting scholar with Prof. Manfred T. Reetz). Since 2002, he has been an assistant professor at Kyoto University. He received Nippon Shokubai Award in Synthetic Organic Chemistry (2003), Inoue Research Award of Encouragement (2008), Mitsui Chemicals Catalysis Science Award of Encouragement (2009), The Society of Silicon Chemistry Award of Encouragement (2009), and Thieme Journal Award (2010). His research interest includes development of new synthetic reactions by metal catalysis for selective synthesis.





The Members of the MBLA 2009 Committee:

Kazuaki Ishihara, Shunichi Hashimoto, Tamio Hayashi*, Masahiro Hirama, Junji Inanaga*, Minoru Isobe, Tsutomu Katsuki*, Yasuyuki Kita*, Keiji Maruoka*, Norio Miyaura, Eiichi Nakamura, Koichiro Ohshima*, Masakatsu Shibasaki, Keisuke Suzuki*, Masahiko Yamaguchi*, Hisashi Yamamoto* (Chairman), Yoshinori Yamamoto* (* Member of the final judgment)

The Lectureship Award "MBLA" is sponsored and administered by Merck Research Laboratories, U.S.A. and Banyu Life Science Foundation International, Japan. It was established in 2004 with the aim of encouraging and enlightening young scientists, is bestowed to a prospective Japanese chemist less than 40 years of age, who has been making outstanding research activities in the field of synthetic organic chemistry. The winner shall deliver a prize lecture at some universities and Merck Research Laboratories in the U.S.

The Past Winners:

- Dr. Masaaki Inoue, Tohoku University, Japan (2004)
- Dr. Motomu Kanai, University of Tokyo, Japan (2005)
- Dr. Jun Terao, Osaka University, Japan (2006)
- Dr. Kenichiro Itami, Nagoya University, Japan (2007)
- Dr. Ken Ohmori, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan (2008)

Sponsored & Administered by: